Texas Killing Fields (2011)

A crime drama could be interesting. They entice you with inspired by true events. The cast has promise as well. Starting off with Sam Worthington. Set in small town Texas town with very small town folk. I noticed a lot of angst with most of the characters in this dreary story. The tone can be a downer. It does lend to hiding the killers since it could be anyone. The pace is a bit slow and very dark feel, which is one aspect I liked about the movie.

The detectives are Mike Souder (Sam Worthington) and Brian Heigh (Jeffrey Dean Morgan). Souder is a local Texan and Brian from New York. Souder has that attitude of we do things our way here. Another detective from a near by county Pam Stall played by Jessica Chastain. Calls Brian to help on a missing girl case. Right off Souder has a problem because it’s not their jurisdiction and Pam is his ex wife. I’m not sure if I missed the point or just some detail didn’t make sense. At Brian’s office it seems his been working at these murders. The girls found what is called the fields that no one wants to go into. So to me the movie lacks putting a story in my mind. What drives the movie for me are the potential killers. The suspects are no angels and need to me jailed.

Chloe Grace Moretz was so cute in 500 Days of Summer and Kick-Ass. I think the movie failed to showcase her potential. I liked Jessica Chastain as Pam. She starts out as a bad ass cop but later in the movie it went flat. I don’t get that she could of done a lot more. The movie has some ups and downs for me. Good tone for a crime drama but nothing ever shocking was a let down. Some what slow but I liked the characters because they all seem a bit crazed even the detectives. I think the movie was entertaining enough but had a slight feeling of it could have been much better. My one plus was the big finale it was rather good Texas Big.

Leave a Reply

