Fright Night (2011)

To me it’s pretty much a guarantee with any vampire movie, I will definitely watch. After watching the trailer I doubted how good Colin Farrell would be. I think he’s done some fine films but I don’t sway either way. I vaguely remember Tigerland (2000) I thought it was incredibly boring. In Cassandra’s Dream and In Bruges his character was such a complainer, I didn’t like it. I did like Minority Report and S.W.A.T. One flick to recommend is Ondine to be fair. I think this movie kept the special affect to a minimum. The supporting cast was very good for this movie. Like Toni Collette. To my delight Lisa Loeb has a small part. I like her as a singer. With her reality show I really warmed up to her. Good looking lady and so sweet. Sandra Vergara left me wanting more, I just like feisty women. Christopher Mintz-Plasse as Ed was funny at times but I think the movie missed his potential.

Starring Anton Yelchin who by the way has being in some good movies. Yelchin plays as Charlie Brewster. Living with his mom Jane (Toni Collette). Charley is a pretty normal kid. Use to be a nerd but now he hangs with the cool kids. His very pretty girlfriend Amy played by Imogen Poots. Christopher Mintz-Plasse as Ed warns Charlie there is a vampire living next door to Ed. Of course the boy is obviously crazy until he goes missing. Charlie sets out to find out more about his neighbor. I like the pace of the movie, it doesn’t waste a lot of time getting into the meat of the story. (sorry I had to) David Tennant plays as Peter Vincent as a survivor of the same vampire, who killed his family. Peter becomes Charlies side kick as well vampire hunters. After Jerry the vampire (Colin Farrell) takes Charlie’s girlfriend Amy . Charlie is out for war.

The movie is pretty straight forward. Nothing too surprising but with the storyline and pace. I found this vampire tale very entertaining. Before I forget worthy to note Emily Montague as Doris. She was taken by Jerry early on. Not to spoil it but Charlie goes to rescue her. The rest I leave to watch. To end it I would add Colin Farrell was pretty good as vampire Jerry. His dialogue was interesting leading me to think he didn’t have enough dialogue as the seducer he portrays to trap his next victim. I think the rating R is pretty border line at least for me. Who is use to soul disturbing scenes then sleeping like a baby. Thanks and good Fright!

3 thoughts on “Fright Night (2011)

Leave a Reply

