Case 39 (2009)

Every time someone hypes a movie it usually disappoints. A co-worker kept telling me to see this movie. For once the hype was warranted. Even though not any big surprise still engaging. The movie has a good cast. All I think very well recognised. I could never forget Ian McShane in his part in the HBO series Deadwood. I really loved that series and McShane was such a bastard! (sorry) Callum Keith Rennie has been in a lot of movie’s. Remember the movie The X Files: I want to believe (2008). Ok! I know you know Bradley Cooper. Not too bad in The Hangover but my favourite was The Midnight Meat Train any horror fan it’s a must see really! And that’s just the supporting cast. Heading this suspense is Renee Zellweger. This lady has a nice resume. Just a couple that I like. Empire Records (1995), Jerry Maguire (1996), Me, Myself & Irene (2000), Bridget Jone’s Diary (2001), Appaloosa (2008). I think you get my point.

Renee Zellweger is Emily Jenkins social worker looking over case 39. A report was made of a little girl who might be abused or neglected. After meeting the family and seeing the little girl. Emily is convinced the little girl is in danger. Jodelle Ferland plays the little girl Lilith Sullivan. Despite no evidence that the girl is abused Emily gives the little girl her phone number. Ian McShane plays Detective Mike Barron. Emily gets a call from Lilith that she is in danger. The Detective and Emily race to the house. The parents Edward (Callum Keith Rennie) and Margaret Sullivan (Kerry O’Malley) have put Lilith in the range oven. The Detective breaks in and saves the girl. This is only the beginning. Bradley Cooper plays child psychologist Doug. Everyone is looking for the best interest of the girl. Emily is talked into taking the girl in from the pleas of Lilith.

The whole time I could anticipate what was coming next. Most of the time this is bad for a movie. I guess with the mystery and good cast the movie still had its appeal. Emily goes from protector to possible victim. Jodelle Ferland plays so innocent but turns quickly to scare any grown up. Lots of mysterious murders, oh I mean accidents right! The movie doesn’t get too much into the why. I like that because maybe bad things sometimes happen. Sure an interesting back story can add to the horror but simplicity worked for Case 39. I liked it and would recommend. You have to wonder the next time you see a child with a smile like they know something it’s not save out there. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

