Men Shaving Safety Razor’s lost art cont.

The day came my package arrived with my new shaver. But its not just a shaver. Preparation is vital to a shaving experience. I’m using a Rooney badger Silvertip brush and Col. Conk soap. I find the soap is key. It makes your skin slick unlike shaving cream I’ve used before. Once you have a lather you apply as needed. The brush is the only one I have used so I don’t have any comparison. Only that the brush works very well. I was impressed with the shaver itself. Not just good looking but feels in your hand very comfortable. I was surprised how easy it seem using this shaver. Oh I mean Rooney safety razor with a ebony finish. Looking at the shape where the blade is secured you can see it bends. The contour of the top combined with the blade at an angle makes it very easy to shave. Another thing to remember before and during shaving I use slightly warm water to warm up the blade. To me using a safety razor is as easy as a Gillette Mack 3 and took about the same time.

 

So you might be thinking whats the point. Some friends think I spent too much money and don’t get it. I don’t have the numbers but after the initial cost, ah well just under $200.00 Now the blades like Feather that I bought cost $5.99 for ten. You can buy a case and save a little more. A new Gillette cartridge of five refills cost almost $20 dollars. Before I used Edge shaving gel about $5.99 I think. Col. Conk soap about $3.29 it looks like it will last a lot longer than the shaving gel. Been using this soap since December just before Christmas. Before I never gave it much thought buy for less and move on. I belief over time say a year I will spend less but not a huge amount but every bit counts. The value is huge considering I look forward to the next shave. Never thought that before. I look forward trying different soaps and after shaves in the near future. The Rooney shaver at $69.99 was an excellent buy very happy with it. There are more expensive shavers out there but I doubt the shaving experience would be any better. Some shavers were less money but I can’t say. My feeling about vintagebladesllc.com is that their products are all of quality and its a matter of choice.

 

The actual shaving I’ll try to describe the experience. Men like tools mostly this is no different. Seeing my shaver and brush in the stand is just cool. You get your brush rinsed in warm water then make a lather with soap in a cup. It feels kind of nostalgic maybe from a movie. Applying the lather it’s warm working it in kind of tingles just a little. The shaver in your hand feels very comfortable. It’s a good feeling using such a nice looking shaver. The blade glides very easy against the skin. The brand of blades Feather I noticed are very thin also a factor when shaving. Using warm water to rinse off keeps the shaver warm to the touch. Usually shaving the first pass I shave  down with the air. I lather a second time shaving sideways or on the neck I shave up for the final close shave. The whole process was pretty quick. The feeling after shaving feels like a fresh start, bring on the day. Like women bathing mens shaving is a time for yourself. Grooming can be more than a chore. You find yourself a little more confident when your taking care of yourself. The biggest change is myself. Doing the things you love brings satisfaction in the moment. I remember my friends wife asked my advice on refinishing a bookcase. I didn’t want to do it for her. I explained how I would do it. A couple weeks later we spoke she finished it maybe not as easy as she thought. I could tell a certain satisfaction in her being able to do it herself. Once I used my shaver for me at least There was a very little learning curve. I thought this is something I will enjoy every time shaving. I should add I have been using a straight razor first but that’s another post. I hope men discover at least shaving like I have. Who knows what other discoveries are out there if we just wonder and try.

Leave a Reply

