Remembering Jimi

In my teens ah! early 80’s I discovered rock and roll. Maybe more accurate Rock. Bands like Van Halen and AC/DC my world changed. I was for ever glued to my music. Something special too me I could endure anything, well almost anything. I had heard of Jimi Hendrix but strangely I never owed any of his records. I still can’t explain it no reason. Now in the present day 2010 I reflect back. As a teen I was finding music that was at first strange. Like I said I liked Van Halen, AC/DC and others. Some one lends me a tape (don’t laugh) of Led Zeppelin Physical Graffiti. I was mesmerized, I had a Walkman and played the tape over and over. Just when I think I have a handle on things some one gives me a Clash tape Combat Rock. I felt I just found some dirty little secret and it was all mine. Yes well my point is I was a kid easily distracted with the discovery of music. Later on some older friend introduce me to American and Pink Floyd. My mom had an eight track tape of the Rolling Stones. I was a kid in a candy store and the store was open twenty four hours. I bought the DVD 1973 Jimi Hendrix. I had seen film clips before and like many my reaction was wow! The same feeling as I watch this DVD the first time.

The DVD is a good look back at a guitar player. The man and his music told by people who knew him. The first time watching I noticed the well known musicians who always stated they were amazed watching Hendrix perform. Like Pete Townsend and Eric Clapton mainly because they got to know Hendrix. After just watching the DVD again I thought about the many women interviewed who knew Hendrix, he was a ladies man. The best of the DVD is just watching Hendrix play, it never gets old. The cover shows him playing an acoustic twelve string guitar, my favorite performance in this DVD. It’s a bluesy tune timeless. All the footage is personal and gives you a front row seat to one of the best performers who’s music is still being played today.

I’m no musical expert I do own a couple guitars and play to amuse myself. One is an Ibanez AEG acoustic electric black (nice). Also I’ve had so long I don’t remember. Epiphone SG red like Angus young. Watching this DVD I get the feeling Hendrix made popular distortion and guitar effects. Before him the guitar had an occasional catchy riff or intro. With Hendrix it seems there was only the guitar. One can speculate what he could of done but its pointless. I prefer to enjoy the music Jimi Hendrix left us and be in awe watching film of a true performer. I hope younger folks discover The Jimi Hendrix Experience. The world is a better place with the music we love. In the film it states Hendrix loved Bob Dylan (notice the hair) myself I’ve never been a fan of Dylan but I reserve the right to change my mind and discover something new to me. Doesn’t music reflect the time and where we are at any time. As I wrote this post I turned on an online radio and the first song was Jimi Hendrix.

Leave a Reply

