The Runaways movie 2010

Sex, drugs, Rock & Roll was something kids wrote on school desk. I remember not really sure what its all about but sounded like a good time. In the early 80’s I was discovering bands like AC/DC and Led Zeppelin. I never heard of The Runaways before. Of course everyone knows Joan Jett. I was curious to see this movie and get some musical history. Like a lot of bands the story is pretty typical. It’s not a bad thing just not a new story. Movies of musicians I really like when they show how some songs came to be. One of the fun things when your a fan of the band.

The story focuses on Joan Jett and Cherie Currie. Kristen Stewart is Joan Jett. Dakota Fanning is Cherie Currie. Michael Shannon is the manager Kim Fowley. Early Kim works with the all teen band to develop a sound and image. It’s pretty funny when Kim has some kids throw trash at the girls to make them tougher. One of the things I loved about this movie was the crazy outfits the young ladies wore. Those crazy 70’s nice trip to memory lane. As the girls start to tour so does the drugs. The relationship between Joan and Cherie are pretty obscure due to the drugs and being a teen. Like a lot of bands they get better after being on the road. The girls perform in Japan to me it was the highlight of the musical talents of the band. Performing Cherie Bomb the band had come into their own. No longer just teens now experienced musicians. Mostly from the performance from Dakota Fanning. The girl has grown up. Also the only real highlight for Lita Ford as she plays a nice guitar solo. With success comes excess and the beginning of making it is also the start of disaster.

I don’t know how much this is true. Cherie Currie quits the band due to the drug life style. It’s possible Cherie was Joan’s first love and it influenced her music. But that is just my thoughts base on this movie. I think the movie was entertaining. I thought it strange that there wasn’t much about the other band members but I guess thats how it goes. I thought the music sounded more toward punk rock. I don’t know if that matters but its something that stood out to me. Kristen Stewart plays the shy troubled teen a lot. I don’t know how much this was Joan Jett. The look is pretty good but seems Joan Jett is more outgoing but thats just my take. Music fans will enjoy especially if you love early rock.

One thought on “The Runaways movie 2010

Leave a Reply

